Monday, April 20, 2015

Junior running back Najee Harris is first commitment to Alabama's 2016 recruiting class.

Najee Harris. Photo via 247Sports. 

National Signing Day 2016 is still 10 months away. Consider that for a moment as Alabama has managed to get its first commitment for its 2017 recruiting class.

Sunday, April 19, 2015

Florida redshirt defensive back J.C. Jackson arrested in connection with armed robbery.

Another Florida player is in trouble with the law. Redshirt freshman defensive back J.C. Jackson was arrested by Gainesville, Fl. police on charges of being involved with the armed robbery of a person described as being "an acquaintance."

Saturday, April 18, 2015

The Fallout: Jim Harbaugh, Bronco Mendenhall, Alabama, and more.

Welcome to the Fallout - Friday edition.

I Just Dropped In.
Michigan head coach Jim Harbaugh took time out to check out a practice session of Michigan's Ultimate Frisbee team. (College Spun)

Bronco Buster.
BYU head coach Bronco Mendenhall describes dealing with the on-and-off-the-field issues that have surrounded the Cougar football program in recent years. (The Salt Lake Tribune)

There can be only one. 
Matt Zenitz looks at the competition at Alabama for the starting positions at quarterback, inside linebacker, and safety. (

The Hunter Gets Captured By the Game. 
Ted Miller profiles Utah defensive end Hunter Dimick. (ESPN)

Steve Spurrier turning 70, still working out harder than most sports reporters.

Steve Spurrier posing shirtless with Josh Kendall. Photo via The State. 

It's almost hard to believe that Steve Spurrier is turning 70 on Monday. Part of that disbelief comes from the fact that the South Carolina head coach neither looks or acts his age. Spurrier credits that to a workout regimen that he's managed to maintain on a regular basis since his days as a quarterback in the NFL.

Friday, April 17, 2015

The Fallout: Jameis Winston, John Swofford, spring games, and more.

Welcome to the Fallout -  Friday edition.

The elephant that's still in the room.
The former Florida State student who accused former Jameis Winston of rape has filed a civil suit against the former FSU starting quarterback in Florida. (ESPN)