Tuesday, December 18, 2012

AP names Johnny Manziel its Player of the Year.

Johnny Manziel at 2012 Heisman Trophy award ceremony.

In the "least shocking news of the day" department comes word that Texas A&M starting quarterback Johnny Manziel has snatched up another end-of-the-year honor. The Associated Press has named the 2012 Heisman Trophy winner its 2012 Player of the Year.

"Manziel's 31 votes were more than twice that of second place finisher Manti Te'o, Notre Dame's start linebacker. He is the third straight Heisman-winning quarterback to receive the honor, following Robert Griffin III and Cam Newton."

The latest award is just another indicator of how impressive Manziel's 2012 season was, and how much is expected of him going forward in 2013.

(via ESPN)