Wednesday, September 1, 2010

Behold! Are these the Big Ten's division splits?

ESPN reports that the Big Ten divisional make-up will look like this:

• Michigan, Nebraska, Iowa, Michigan State, Northwestern and Minnesota.
• Ohio State, Penn State, Wisconsin, Purdue, Indiana and Illinois.

Much to the traditionalist's chagrin, Michigan and Ohio St. will be split up. This is probably for the best, because competitively  unbalanced divisions is one of the reasons why Nebraska left the Big 12 in the first place. 
Brushing off the old SWRT article on what a two-division Big Ten would look like, it comes pretty darn close to what is reportedly going to take place.

Michigan St.
Northwestern/ (12th member)

Ohio St.
Penn St.
Northwestern/ (12th member)

The only teams differences are that Wisconsin is the team that lands in the "South" instead of Northwestern. That's mostly due to the conventional wisdom that the 12th team would be either a Big East Team or Notre Dame. Nebraska wasn't seen as the team who would end up as being the Twelfth of the Ten.

No word about what the divisions will be called yet. North/South? East/West? Ro-Tel/Barbosol? The official announcement will be Wednesday night.

(via ESPN)

No comments: